Hello all! I’m still here! A thought for today, and something to ponder.

Hello, faithful readers! I am still here, though I have been more silent as of late because my EMT classes are rapidly coming to an end, and I am down to the wire as I approach the dates at which I will test out for my certification.

I trust and hope everyone is well and I appreciate the fact that not only do you still come to check the Takedown, but I see new people are coming as well! That is a great compliment to me, and I truly hope that things are found here to encourage, uplift and make people smile.

I want to leave you with this thought, today, that I am sure has shown up in other places on the Takedown, but that I ran across and it struck me just as it did the first time I saw it. The quote is from Yehuda Bauer, and is also the image that accompanies this post. It says, simply:

“Thou shalt not be a victim, Thou shalt not be a perpetrator, but above all, Thou shalt not be a bystander.” 

The quote speaks of not standing by and allowing injustice (TRUE injustice, not the manufactured “What can we be enraged about today” stuff we see on TV) and evil to be done while we do nothing. That same idea is referenced in a poem by Maurice Ogden called The Hangman. A remarkable video was done of the poem, and I include it below.

“…I did no more than you LET me do.”

Think about it, long and hard. God bless today, my friends.

 

Leave a Reply

