I’m back! Encouragement for today – never stop trying to make a difference, to yourself and others

Man, what a busy couple of months this has been. Between the normal things of summer, a funeral for a friend’s mother, and the number of hours I have been volunteering at the local ambulance corps, it seems like I’ve been hitting the ground running almost every day.

You know what, though? After almost 13 years of being a home dad with 2 special needs kids, it feels good. Sure, I was busy with them, their schooling and making sure that the school system did what it was supposed to do where they were concerned, but it wasn’t the same. This is just – different. How? I don’t know if I can put it into words but I’ll try.

Working at the ambulance corps has taught me a lot about myself. It’s forced me to move out of my comfort zone (a zone that is reinforced by the fact that I fall somewhere on the autistic spectrum, and so it can be very hard for me to move from the familiar to the unfamiliar) to make new friends and learn to work and be part of a team again, and it’s also taught me that being older isn’t the same as being DEAD.

Did you catch that? It’s not. I was 44 when I received my certification as a New York State Certified First Responder. 44. I am working with a lady (and I am proud to call her that, too, as well as one of the most phenomenal friends I have ever been blessed to have) who is 30 and is a paramedic. Most of the other people in my class were significantly younger than I was. It would have been easy to just back off, drop out and say “Nah, I’m too old for this. Too old to change, to stick my neck out. I waited too long/started too late.” MAN am I glad I didn’t! I would have missed out on so very much, not the least of which was learning an entirely new skill set in order to be certified!

In the short time that I have worked with the Corps I have personally participated in:

  • Helping to ease the worry and concern of people who needed to be transported to the hospital, generally by informing them that I’m the driver and I “won’t do a stitch over NINETY” (That never fails to make them laugh) or some remark about running people off the road if I have to. (That gets a chuckle, too)
  • Reassuring those in distress that we will give them the absolute best care we can, and also to help the families realize that and ensure they know how to get to the facility to which we are bringing their family member
  • Learning to use the ambulance both in non-priority (no lights and sirens) and priority (lights, sirens, and the whole 9 yards) calls, and the safe way to do both. (Contrary to popular belief, you don’t just hit the lights, hit the sirens and stomp the gas)
  • Resuscitating a man who had gone into a full blown cardiac emergency (we’re talking no pulse, heart stopped, the works) and by the grace of God, giving him more time to live and hopefully get those things corrected that had caused it to happen

And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

Guys, gals, aliens from other planets – whoever is reading this – if you take nothing else away from this, take this away. Until the day comes when you stop breathing for good, it is never too late. It’s never too late to make a positive difference to someone else, or to yourself. It’s never too late to make a change in your life, to pursue a dream, or to learn something new.

The only one stopping you, many times – is YOU.

So, what do you say?

God bless, my friends.