I’m still here – and a reminder to “be careful out there!”

Friends, I know it has been over 2 weeks since a post was made here on The Takedown. I plead being busy with my new volunteer work (and on that note, I thank any and all of you that offers prayers, well wishes and/or good thoughts as I went to work at the Ambulance Corps!) and the online work I needed to do as I began to be brought up to speed. It is work that never fails to teach me something new every single day, and I am enjoying it thoroughly.

However, there’s a more serious reason why I came back. Permit me, for a moment, to give vent to my feelings. By now, I’m sure most if not all of you are aware of the treacherous act of villainy that occurred at the nightclub in Orlando, FL, this past week. No matter who we are or what we believe, no one deserves to be gunned down and slaughtered simply because they are gay or lesbian. The pandering and outright dodging by so many of our elected officials is, to me, not only a slap in the face to those who were brutally murdered – for murdered is what they were, in a vile act of terrorism – but is akin to treason, given their oaths to protect and serve the people and its citizens. The hijacking of memorials and gatherings by members of the BLM movement in a weak attempt to somehow use the deaths of these people to further their own agenda is a tasteless, classless act of the highest order. They deserve, in my opinion, only our scorn and our ridicule for these actions.

Thank you for that chance to vent. Now for my concern; I believe that more of these attacks are coming. Aided and abetted by the petulant, pompous person occupying the White House, as well as those within the Congress and House who are more interested in blaming the gun, gun laws, or using this tragedy to push an agenda rather than looking at the fact that we are facing elements of a determined, evil enemy who wants anyone DEAD who does not fall in line with their beliefs, it is believed and I agree, that this is only the beginning.

It’s a scary thought, and I admit that, freely.

Friends – now, more than ever, we need to be careful. We need to be vigilant. We need to not become paranoid, nor begin profiling people JUST because of their race or religion, but we need to accept the fact that there are beliefs out there that justify and condone violence of this magnitude, so long as it is done to the right people – and that there are people willing to accept that and do it. Keep your eyes open. Stay alert, and be informed. I am currently reading an excellent book called “Left of Bang,” and along with “The Gift of Fear,” I’d recommend them most highly. As someone who has just started in EMS, they are helping me remember that not all people who call for help have good motives in mind and sometimes, even those who NEED help can be a danger to you or those who are trying to help them. Scene safety, they call it, first, middle and last.

For yourselves, for your loved ones, and for your family – “let’s be careful out there!” You’re the only you there will ever be, and you’re just as special, just as precious as anyone else for just that reason. Stay alert – stay, as the book says, “Left of bang.” (That’s an unashamed plug – read the book and you’ll see what I’m talking about. It’s that good.)

Remember, it may not be a feel-good, warm and fuzzy thought but it is a true one; you can’t reason with evil – you can only avoid it, temporarily, or confront it.

God bless today, my friends.