As quick to compliment as to criticize – a follow up to “What happened to humor? Part II”

I was, when I first saw the news break, quick to post my take on the new Will Ferrell “comedy” that was upcoming; namely the one that was supposed to deal with Ronald Reagan’s battle with Alzheimer’s in a ‘humorous’ manner. I spoke my piece, and wished fervently that the backlash that appeared to be gathering steam; backlash both from people who loved AND hated the late, former President, might make someone have some second thoughts.

Apparently, it has. News has come out today that Will Ferrell has backed out of the making of that particular movie. Rumors are swirling as to why, with some giving credit to the public outcry and others saying that he did it because he knew he was going to hurt his career and/or his wallet. To me, the reason is academic. He could just as easily have given everyone the middle finger and gone right on with his plans, but instead he chose to step down and not continue with making the movie.

As I was quick to criticize, I also shall be quick to give him a tip of the hat and say, “Well done, sir. Thank you for doing the more tasteful and, in my opinion, classy thing.” Perhaps he had a change of heart. I have no problem with taking the more generous route and believing that he did.

God bless today, my friends.

 

2 thoughts on “As quick to compliment as to criticize – a follow up to “What happened to humor? Part II”

Comments are closed.