PAY ATTENTION – The life you save may be your own!

First of all, I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas, and is safely back to wherever it is you planned on being by this time. I and my family had a relaxing few days with out of town family and now are safely back home.

I saw this article today and I can’t decide which is worse:

  1. That a 30 year old was so distracted by an electronic device and actually paid so little attention to where he was going, while near a CLIFF FACE, that he fell over the edge and fell some 60 feet to his death – OR –
  2. The fact that when I read the article, my first impulse was to laugh right out loud, owing to a combination of picturing it looking like a scene from an old Looney Tunes cartoon and the fact that somehow, I was not only not surprised, but was actually surprised that we don’t hear about that happening every single day.  

Was it a tragedy? Absolutely – MORE so because it was such a pointless, ridiculous reason to lose your life. It’s sad to think that we, as a nation, actually have to start putting up signs like the one attached to this blog post, or do things like remind people that staring at your phone, trying to send a text message while also attempting to drive is a VERY bad idea.

I mean, really.

In any event, whatever you may think of the story or of my initial reaction (I’m human enough, and honest enough to admit it and not apologize for it), remember something – we need to pay attention to what’s going on around us. We need to teach our kids, if we have any, to do the same. It can, literally, save YOUR life, and the life of someone else as well! 

http://www.foxnews.com/us/2015/12/27/distracted-man-falls-from-california-cliff-to-his-death.html?intcmp=hplnws

God bless, my friends and, in the words of the guy from Hill Street Blues – “Let’s be careful out there.”