An excellent reminder to think before you post in our “socially connected world”

I have an article I want to share with you that I believe you will find very encouraging. However, I have some background to share before I do, and so let’s get to it.

Let’s face it – the world today is more digitally and socially connected than it ever has been. It seems that every other day, the news is splashed with headlines about someone losing their job/marriage/career over something they posted on Facebook, or getting their panties or jockey shorts in a bunch over something they said or someone else said on Twitter. (That, in and of itself amazes me, since they both have one feature in common – THEY CAN BE TURNED OFF – but I digress) 

Not too long ago, I rejoined Facebook after a lengthy absence, mainly because my family and extended family insisted that it was “the main way we all keep each other informed of what’s going on.” Telephones, text messages and email were too much, I guess, and so I reluctantly rejoined. It amazed me that the same things were still going on that had been going on way back when I had left; same drama, same arguments, same airing of personal, dirty laundry, same rants and name calling about this one and that one – all, of course without actually naming names – much more passive aggressive, but yet anyone who knew anything knew who they meant. It was, literally, almost enough to make me disconnect again and turn of Facebook for good.

Then I stopped and realized that that wasn’t the answer. The problem wasn’t Facebook – it was the mindset of the people using it. I had friends on there who had said how much they appreciated my posts and my more rational point of view on things. Many liked the encouraging or informative things I posted. Was I willing to just throw them out, too? The answer to that was, if you’ll pardon my French, a resounding “HELL NO!” Instead, I did two things:

1. I removed the newsfeeds of people (family OR friends) who were little more than constant rants, constant drama, constant “woe is me!”, constant negativity, and did so with no apologies. There is enough in life to cause negative feelings; none of us need the constant influx on Facebook as well.
2. I began researching why people post the things they do on social media, and the damage it can do. The results were, to say the least, VERY enlightening.

That research led me to the following article. Although written from the point of view of a Christian, the ideas in it, are universal to all of us and were very eye-opening to me. It was a good reminder to me that once you post something, it’s out there forever. Like harsh words or comments you may be able to remove them but you’ll never be able to completely undo the damage that they may cause – and they may just come back to haunt you. On a personal note, it also made me VERY grateful for the wife that I have, in that we both agree not to post personal things on line, nor do we engage in the “We’ll make the other one look stupid in front of people/on Facebook” nonsense that so many do.

I hope you read this and are encouraged by it!

God bless today, my friends!

Dirty Laundry in the Basket, Not Facebook