And we’re back!

Sorry for the lack of posts over the last few days – I had to do a factory reset on my phone, which necessitated my re installing software, backups and the like. Took some time, but here we are again – and with a post that I think many will find not only VERY interesting, but also a great source of help in an emergency! You’d be surprised how encouraging it is, mentally, both to yourself and others to be prepared for what may come.

This came to my inbox the other day as a result of my volunteer work with the American Red Cross and, after doing the research, I wanted to pass it on to all of you. Many times in a disaster or even something of a lesser degree like a power failure, people are caught without an adequate source of light. Batteries that they thought were good turn out to be dead, or they may have none at all. In those cases, many turn to candles, which can be a hazard all their own. According to the National Candle Association (Yes, there really IS such a group!), an estimated 20% (1 in 5) of candle fires involving fatalities occur during a period of time following a loss of power. Fortunately, another solution has been proposed and from what I’ve seen, the reviews are good. It’s a water powered emergency light – the Eton Blackout Buddy H20. Once activated, it provides continuous light for up to 72 hours (some reviewers have said they last longer than that), and their batteries contain no harmful chemicals such as mercury or cadmium. Needless to say, this is something I intend to add to my IFAK, my home kit, and my vehicle. They can be ordered from Eton, directly, from Amazon, or from the American Red Cross.

Here’s a fun fact for the day, too – in a VERY extreme situation, Eton has verified that the light can be activated by, and run on fresh urine. How’s THAT for preparedness? No having to use your supplies of drinking water to power the light source!

I urge anyone reading this to check these out and then order some to have on hand. With a shelf life of 10+ years, I don’t feel you can go wrong and, as I have stressed to my sons, it’s better to HAVE it and not NEED it, than to NEED it and not HAVE it.

Here’s some links on the subject:
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2462090,00.asp

http://www.etoncorp.com/en/productdisplay/blackout-buddy-h2o

***ONE IMPORTANT NOTE: If you, like me, order things from Amazon, be aware that a vast majority of the negative reviews are for different versions of the Blackout Buddy – NOT the Blackout Buddy H20. For some reason, the reviews are mixed together and as of this writing, Amazon has yet to correct that. 

Finally, for all of us, here are some safety tips for using candles: http://candles.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/Be-Careful-with-Candles-During-Power-Outages.pdf

God bless today, my friends, and remember – be safe out there! Every day before a disaster or other occurrence was a normal day – just like today. Be aware – be ready – be prepared!