Science and Faith – allies or enemies? Something to ponder.

As a person who is a professed follower of Jesus Christ and yet also a person who is a believer in the laws of science (One of my favorite things to say to people is that the Bible tells us God created the universe, but it doesn’t say HOW, nor to me does it matter) , I often am met with surprise by people who, I suspect, expect me to be openly hostile to science and scientific ideas. That has led me to wonder – where, exactly, did this idea that faith and science are somehow mortal enemies?

I did some research and have 3 links to share, which I hope you’ll take the time to read. Before I share them, however, let me express my own views on the subject, based on my own experience and on what I have observed. My personal opinion is that the whole “faith vs. science” thing really boils down to something more specific – “Literal Christianity vs. Science.” Now, this is by no means an attack on anyone. nor an attempt to throw stones – let’s be clear right now. However, if you belong to a branch of Christianity that believes that when the Bible says that God created the world in six days, period, and no other interpretation of that is acceptable, you’re going to have a hard time with what science puts forth. (Again, to me, it’s a non-issue. Whether God created the universe and all that’s in it in six literal days or over the course of millions of years, using the laws of the universe that He put into place and we are discovering, it makes no difference. He still did it as opposed to it all just being some kind of cosmic happenstance) If you believe that the Earth, because of that literal interpretation, is only 6,000 years old, the same applies.

For myself, I see no conflict, save on the idea that man evolved from lower animals. However, I also readily state that that stems from my faith and belief system, and that if evolution is taught as a scientific theory or idea, that’s fine. You don’t need to (nor, in my opinion, SHOULD you) teach Creationism alongside that in the public schools, for a great many reasons – not the least of which are that if you open the door to one, you need to open the door to all. Teach science in school and allow moral/religious teaching in the home, save for specifically religiously themed schools. Moral/religious teaching is MY job, as a parent – not the job of the school.

The Boot Of Truth, for me, is that they aren’t enemies. I’ll stick by the statement ascribed to Galileo – “The Bible shows us the way to go to Heaven, not the way the heavens go.”  Science and faith are enemies only when we, as people, choose to make them so. 

Here, then, are the articles: I hope you enjoy them and, if nothing else and whatever you may believe or not, it gives you some insight you may not previously have had.

http://wiredcosmos.com/essay02152012/

http://www.catholiceducation.org/en/religion-and-philosophy/apologetics/are-science-and-religion-really-enemies.html

http://www.doesgodexist.org/JanFeb14/ScienceAndFaith.EnemiesOrFriends.html

God bless today, my friends.