Some encouragement for us all, today – don’t be afraid to laugh at yourself!

I was reminded, again, this morning, of how healthy a thing it is to be able to laugh at myself when I do something that is either downright silly, or when the unpredictable elements of life all decide to get together and have a huge joke at your expense. I had been sending texts back and forth with my sister, as is our custom, and she remarked that where she lived, she was fogged in.

“Your higher elevation, no doubt,” I replied, sagely.

“Yep.”

That was it. That was her reply. When I read it, this image came immediately to mind, and is hereby posted in honor of my incredibly OBVIOUS statement, made like I was quoting a universal mystery:

Captain Obvious

I had a hearty laugh at myself, needless to say, and can only thank God for however many times my friends and family didn’t slap me one when I, no doubt, have done that in the past. On a similar note, I can still vividly recall taking a young lady whom I loved dearly, out one night. It was, for me, something I had waited for and dreamed of. (I believe the phrase is “I had it bad”) I took her to our local Friendly’s and we got a booth and ordered food. When the food came I picked up the catsup bottle and began to vigorously shake it in a half circle, so as to let the catsup come out more easily and –

Why are you laughing? Oh. Yeah. You can see what’s coming, can’t you? I can hear you snickering already. Just keep reading. 

The first indication I had that disaster was imminent was when the top went pinging across the floor. My arm muscles refused to STOP STOP STOP and instead kept turning the bottle, which ended up with a large streak of red down the wall beside me, across the seat, up my left side and smack into the left side of my face. It smeared my glasses and spattered into my hair and for a moment, it seemed like the world stopped. Then my friend, God bless her, burst RIGHT out laughing, as did some of the people around me. Did I scream? Cry? Act all embarrassed and apologize profusely? Nope. I pulled my glasses off and, with as much calm as I could, picked up a napkin and began cleaning the lens, saying, “So…what were we talking about?

Then she DID laugh; and I did, too. To end it right, I stood up and took a bow – and everyone within eyesight was roaring, as I was. She still remembers it, to this day, and so do I.

O.k., so what’s the point? Where’s The Boot Of Truth? It’s here, and this is the point; none of those situations were fatal. Our society is focused on image, poise, that ‘perfection’ that this one or that one has and, on top of it, with the advent of the hypersensitive PC movement and all its labels, we’ve forgotten how to do a very simple thing – laugh at ourselves, as well as at the very human mistakes of others. Laugh at our foibles and our mistakes; our missteps and our screw ups. 

It doesn’t HAVE to be that way, though. If you haven’t already, or perhaps you’ve forgotten how, do yourself a favor and learn to laugh at yourself. We’re all human, and we all mess up. My dad used to say, “Might as well laugh as cry,” and we’re all probably familiar with the saying, “Unless it’s fatal, it’s no big deal.”  It’s true.

Here’s a couple of articles on the subject, submitted for your perusal:

http://www.lessonsfromlois.com/view_article.php?articleID=3

http://www.laughterremedy.com/2012/04/the-sixth-humor-habit-take-yourself-lightly-laugh-at-yourself/

God bless, today, my friends – and don’t forget to laugh!