Some upcoming posts, and some funnies

By now, I’m sure most (if not all) of my followers/visitors/readers have heard of or run across the “KEEP CALM AND CARRY ON” signs, and their various variants. (This sentence and alliteration brought to you by the Department of Redundancy Department) Today, while in our local bookstore I saw a pocket sized book that had the following title:

SCREW CALM AND GET ANGRY

Needless today, I grabbed it up and discovered, to my delight, that it was exactly what I hoped; namely a parodical version of those same books, but with quotes designed for the following purpose, per the introduction:

“To help you achieve a new state of mild motivation, ‘Screw Calm and Get Angry’ brings together several centuries of embattled and embittered epithets.” Why, you may be asking, would I be reading such a thing, let alone including it on a site that is designed to be a place of encouragement? Well, for one, because as the introduction also says, “Our stiff upper lip can only last just so far…You may very well find that getting your dander up might be the only way to get things changed around here.”

Another reason, and the main one, is because I believe that one of the most encouraging things in life is humor. That humor can be downright funny, it can be biting, it can be wry, but a good laugh (even at the ludicrous actions of others or the situations of life) can, indeed, help us through the day; and a LOT of the quotes in this book are downright funny, at least to me. To quote my friend over at the PIGazette, I had to stop reading it in the mall where I was waiting for my wife because I was “laughing like a mental patient.”

So then, be looking for these quotes and observations as the days go on, and may they make YOU laugh, as well, even though they may also be things that are quite true, when we consider what they observe and point out about the world around us!

God bless today, my friend.