A plug for a very handy guide I ran across, in keeping with my “being prepared” post…

While in Barnes and Noble the other day, I ran across the following item: First Aid, Survival and CPR Home and Field Pocket Guide, by Shirley A. Jones. Needless to say, i was intrigued for a number of reasons, and picked it up to thumb through it. I liked it well enough that I purchased it and will say honestly that I am glad I did. I recommend it to anyone who would like a pocket sized wealth of information to carry with them as they go about their daily routines. (I initially looked at it because it would be easier to either put in my IFAK – that’s Individual First Aid Kit, if you didn’t know already – or carry on my person than my full sized first aid manual would be) Here are the positive points as I see them:

  • It’s written by a person who is both an EMT-P and an RN. In the US of A, where I am, that translates into a person who is an Emergency Medical Technician (Paramedic), and Registered Nurse. That, to me, is a plus, since it’s not Joe R. Dunkelfeld putting together a book to sell that may or may not have accurate/proper information in it. It is presumed trustworthy, considering the source. The book is also compliant with HIPAA and OSHA laws (again, these are laws primarily for the USA, which govern proper procedures for protecting yourself and others when dealing with emergency situations). Again, it counts as another mark in favor of its reliability and trustworthiness.
  • The book is designed to be used, and used in the field. The pages are, from the description, both waterproof and able to be written on with a ball point pen, which can then be removed with an alcohol pad to be written on again. This provides you with a way to take notes when in the field, if need be, when assisting someone in an emergency, as well as list emergency contact info on the fly when traveling.
  • The inside cover lists Emergency Information Contacts, such as the American Red Cross, Poison Control Center, Animal Control Center, and the like.
  • The book is separated into sections by thumb tabs, which I found exceedingly easy to manipulate to get to the section I need. Each section is, as far as I have read through it, fairly extensive; for example, the section on CPR even includes a section on how to perform the procedure on pets, should the need arise. That surprised me, since I had never considered having to perform CPR on a dog or cat, but hey, you never know, right? Other sections deal with safety, emergencies in general, injuries, medical emergencies, and also sections on disaster preparedness and survival preparedness and strategies. (I was especially impressed that, as I glanced through those sections in particular, they were common sense strategies and preparedness, as opposed to the more extreme “Prepare for the end of the world!!!!” type that is so popular in the media) 

My copy cost $28 and some change at B&N, but you may be able to pick yours up for less, should you shop around. It can also be ordered directly from the publisher at www.fadavis.com. Again, I would recommend it highly, and I think you would be pleased with it. It would be, to me, a worthwhile investment to have on hand, especially for someone who may not have formal training in First Aid/CPR and would like a quick reference on hand, just in case.

God bless, my friend!